World Vegan Day – What Some of us Don’t Know

Annually on 1st November, we see World Vegan Day. A day that aims to raise awareness for an ethical, environmentally friendly diet and lifestyle. In modern day society, being a vegan is nothing to be sniffed at. With the masses of alternatives to non-vegan foods like cheese and even meat pies, making the switch and becoming a vegan is something any body can do.

What we all know about vegan-ism is that it is meat-free and dairy-free, as well as sparing any food or (and for some) product that an animal suffered for it to be made. In an attempt to raise awareness for World Vegan Day, I’m going to talk through some factors of the lifestyle that I didn’t even know about until more recently – so people are well informed so they can appreciate others and maybe even consider making the switch themselves.

1. Chocolate

In my discovery of a vegan diet, I realised that there were a lot of things I just didn’t think of. Chocolate of course has milk in it – therefore it should not be eaten by a vegan. The amazing thing with modern ingredients is that gorgeous chocolate alternatives have been made. They taste exactly like your average milk chocolate and they’re always reasonably priced. Of course, there is always dark chocolate as well.

2. INSTANT NOODLES ARE VEGAN!

I repeat. They are. Even the chicken ones. The unbelievably addicting 20p ones you can buy in any supermarket. They work as an amazing lazy snack or dinner.

3. Oreos

Another surprising vegan food, Oreos. Those amazing, creamy, chocolatey biscuits of love are in fact, vegan. Despite the Oreo slogan being “milk’s favourite cookie”, there’s only milk in it if you add it yourself.

4. Linda McCartney

Linda McCartney foods are among the most popular branded, vegan ranges. With amazing alternatives ranging from meat pies, sausage rolls, vegan sausages and burgers, you cannot go wrong. They also taste, EXACTLY like meat. Having meat cravings? This is your go to.

So there you have it, some quick fire facts that for those of you that are worried about becoming a vegan or feel you couldn’t do it, you definitely could. Relinquish this amazing, ethical way of living.

Advertisements

One comment

  1. Raw Natural Chocolate is completely void of dairy cow’s milk. Dark Chocolate has a lessor amount of cow’s milk than “Milk” Chocolate, but still contains a certain amount of milk. The Cacao Bean of Chocolate is what its name implies -Brown- which is the natural state of a lot of beans: Vanilla Bean, Coffee Bean, etc. Many of the values of foods are depleted of its nutrients when processed with added white milk or bleached white -which is usually done purely for cosmetic reasons: white flour, white sugar, white rice, white pasta and so on; all of these items are originally -Brown- in its natural state. Great Post!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s